top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWill - Rocket Fuel Games

Part 2: Game Design Case Study - 'Rocket Road!' Game Concept

Updated: May 8, 2020

In 'Part 1', I discussed the process I go through when creating a game trailer. Thinking about the game trailer (or how the game may come across to the user prior to them playing it) can help you think about the attractive elements of the game before advancing into full game development. You could see it as reverse engineering.

It is important that your game is appealing to the user who is in the market for a new game to play, or maybe the user who downloads the game on an impulse. For this reason, I think about how my game would look in an advert. This simple exercise goes hand in hand with researching popular game trends. How will the game you plan to create, compare with other - similar - games?


This is when I start thinking about the game concept.


1) Which games are topping the charts?

2) What's the common - popular - theme?

3) How can I make the most popular games more enjoyable?


This is when I came up with 'Rocket Road!'.


'Rocket Road!' is a simple game with two modes. From looking at the AppStore, it was clear that having levels in the game was vital. I decided it would be a good idea to also have an Endless game mode, this works well for those who complete the levels but still want to play the game.


Thanks for reading!

If you have any questions, or need more information, please email me at: rocketfuelgames@gmail.com


6 views0 comments
bottom of page